Winter Layup in Duluth, Part II

This post will conclude my photos form this past weekend in Duluth. Yesterday’s post featured the Superior side of the harbor, where Indiana Harbor, American Victory, Kaye E. Barker, and Herbert C. Jackson are laid up.

222

Just as with yesterday, I didn’t think I would be able to get a good view of the laid up Edward L. Ryerson, either. It only took a bit of searching to produce this excellent vantage point!

223

I wasn’t happy with the lighting, because it was late afternoon, so I brightened up this shot before I took it, and I kind of like the white-ish background.

224

The Ryerson was launched in early 1960, and has been in layup at Duluth since 2009. She was moved to the dock opposite the CHS elevator when Fraser began their dock renovation project last year.

225

However, I made one mistake on this trip: I forgot to bring my good camera along, which I normally use. I do rather like the camera on my iPhone – the pictures in yesterday’s post turned out pretty well. But the thing iPhone cameras aren’t good for is zoomed-in shots, which is exactly what I had to do to get shots from the Blatnik Bridge. The bridge gives probably one of the best viewpoints for seeing ship traffic, so I decided to take photos anyway. This was the best shot I could get of Paul R. Tregurtha, which was laid up at Midwest Energy until her departure yesterday.

226

I think my best shots of the American Century, laid up at the Holcim Cement Dock (otherwise known as Port Terminal berths 6 and 7) were from the old railroad bridge, which is now used as a fishing pier.

227

The American Century was built in 1981, making her the newest of the 13 1,000 footers. Paul R. Tregurtha comes in a close second – launched just a few months prior to the Century.

228

I then decided to take a panorama of the Blatnik Bridge, now that the renovation project is complete. Note the ice on the left side of the harbor, but the right side was fairly clear.

229

I find the former railroad bridge very interesting – the tracks were on top of the iron beams at the top of the photo, and the walking bridge was added below. The bridge is a good spot for watching ships coming to and from Midwest Energy and the CN ore docks.

230

Now on the Blatnik Bridge, I made two different attempts at photos. I didn’t like the lighting as much the first time, but I really like the vantage point.

231

I don’t know why this photo turned out so dark and crooked – its actually one of my least favorites, even though I again love the angle! This photo gives a better view of Philip R. Clarke, laid up at the fueling dock.

232

I like this photo from my second pass-over much better, as it was a bright, sunny day. Although it turned out a bit crooked too…

233

The Philip R. Clarke can be seen here over the buildings at Port Terminal. This was probably the best shot I got of her!

234

Next, at Port Terminal berth 1, is Philip R. Clarke‘s larger fleetmate Edwin H. Gott. She was the first departure from the port on Thursday morning.

235

I was also able to grab one last shot of the 1898-built J.B. Ford, although she blends into her background quite well! Until this past November, a group had been working to save the ship and have it preserved, but the overwhelming cost of asbestos removal proved to be too much for the group. Tugs towed the ship to this slip last fall for scrapping, which I assume will begin soon.

236

That was all for the ships in port, but I was also able to get a shot of the 225-foot Coast Guard cutter Alder. Note Philip R. Clarke to the left of her bow mast.

237

On my final night in Duluth, the sky was beautiful, and I couldn’t resist grabbing a shot of the very photogenic Aerial Lift Bridge.

238

And to close out this post, we’ll throw in the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers tug Bayfield, lit up with red and blue rope lights.

That was all from my trip to Duluth this past weekend. With the opening of the Soo Locks at 12:01 a.m. this morning, the 2016 shipping season has officially started. Duluth’s first arrival of the season, Michipicoten, is expected to arrive early Saturday morning for a load of iron ore pellets, and traffic will only be increasing from there. So for now, stay tuned for updates on vessel departures!

Leave a Reply

